The Forward Prizes have established themselves as central to the literary landscape of modern Britain. Andrew Marr

This is a moment for poetry. This is the best poetry of this moment.

The judges of the Forward Prizes – poets Leontia Flynn, Shivanee Ramlochan and Pascale Petit and poetry critic Tristram Fane Saunders, chaired by broadcaster and writer James Naughtie – have selected the finest works published in the UK and Ireland. features the best work taken from new collections and literary journals.

This anthology offers a unique insight into a pandemic world and how we make sense of the continuing uncertainty around us. It is required reading for those who love poetry as well as the perfect spur for those who wish to experience poetry’s power to illuminate, challenge and connect – even in troubling times.

The most coveted awards in British poetry. The Daily Telegraph.

The works in contention for the three categories – Best Collection, Best First Collection and Best Single Poem – address the world head-on. The Guardian.

The Forward Prize for Best Collection 
Kayo Chingonyi • Tishani Doshi • Selima Hill • Luke Kennard • Stephen Sexton

The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection
Caleb Femi • Alice Hiller • Cynthia Miller • Holly Pester • Ralf Webb

The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem
Fiona Benson • Natalie Linh Bolderston • John McCullough • Denise Riley • Nicole Sealey


Highly Commended Poems
Jason Allen-Paisant • Threa Almontaser • Tiffany Atkinson • Khairani Barokka • Alex Bell • Leo Boix • Elizabeth-Jane Burnett • Dom Bury • Lewis Buxton • Anne Carson • Sumita Chakraborty • John Challis • Suzanne Cleary • David Constantine • Polina Cosgrave • Maia Elsner • Martina Evans • Kit Fan • Joseph Fasano • Annie Freud • Angela Gardner • Alan Gillis • Jen Hadfield • Maryam Hessavi • Victoria Kennefick • Fran Lock • lisa luxx • Gail McConnell • Andrew McMillan • Alexandra Melville • Jessica Mookherjee • Manuela Moser • Daljit Nagra • Doireann Ní Ghríofa • Jude Nutter • Abigail Parry • Eleanor Penny • Rowan Ricardo Phillips • Richard Price • Yousif M. Qasmiyeh • Yvonne Reddick • Christopher Reid • Matthew Rice • Michael Symmons Roberts • Robin Robertson • Declan Ryan • Maria Stadnicka • Joelle Taylor • GC Waldrep • Rushika Wic


The Forward Book of Poetry 2022 brings together the best poetry from 2021, including great work shortlisted and Highly Commended in the 2021 Forward Prizes.

In showcasing the range and ambition of today’s fresh voices alongside work by familiar names, this anthology is both a perfect introduction to contemporary poetry and invaluable for the seasoned poetry reader.


Get in Touch

To find out more about what we offer, our events and getting involved.

Contact Us