Forward Book of Poetry

65 reasons to buy the Forward Book of Poetry 2017

Emily Blewitt, Nancy Campbell, Vahni Capildeo,
Ron Carey, John Clegg, Phillip Crymble,
Kate Dempsey, Edward Doegar, Maura Dooley,
Sasha Dugdale, Ian Duhig, Will Eaves
Andy Fletcher, Leontia Flynn, Linda France,
Tom French, Harry Giles, Choman Hardi,
Tracey Herd, Sarah Howe, Kathleen Jamie,
Rachel Hadas, David Harsent, Luke Kennard
Kate Kilalea, Peter Knaggs, Angela Leighton
William Letford, Fran Lock, Melissa Lee-Houghton,
Hannah Lowe, Kathryn Maris, Cathal McCabe,
Roy McFarlane, JO Morgan, Helen Mort,
Andrew Motion, Karthika Nair, Katrina Naomi,
Sharon Olds, Alice Oswald, Nigel Pantling,
Denise Riley, Ruby Robinson, Amali Rodrigo,
Michael Rosen, Carol Rumens, Solmaz Sharif,
Fiona Sampson, Ian Seed, Jo Shapcott,
Peter Sirr, Di Slaney, Jos Smith,
Julian Stannard, Em Strang, Katharine Towers,
RA Villanueva, Mark Waldron, Tiphanie Yanique,
Julia Webb, Grace Wells, Sarah Westcott
Anna Wigley, Luke Wright

The Forward Book of Poetry 2017

The Forward Book of Poetry 2017, the 25th annual anthology of the best of the year’s poetry, features work by all the poets shortlisted for the 2016 Forward Prizes, plus fifty poems highly commended by the panel of judges, who selected work from 161 poetry collections published in the previous twelve months.

Bel Mooney in the Daily Mail praised this “rich and various” collection, noting how beautifully it fulfilled its aim: “to shine a light on talent old and new and perhaps to lead you along pathways you had never noticed.”

The first Forward Book was published in 1992 by our sponsors and supporters Bookmark (Bookmark traded as Forward Worldwide until 2016). The aim, then as now, was to bring together the most interesting contemporary poetry published in Britain and Ireland over the previous year.

“These annual anthologies of the poems in the running for the Forward Prizes remain the best way of encountering the richness that new poetry has to offer.”
The Daily Telegraph