100 Prized Poems: Twenty-five Years of the Forward Prizes

100 reasons to read

100 Prized Poems: Twenty-five Years of the Forward Books

Moniza Alvi, Simon Armitage, Mona Arshi,
Ros Barber, George Barker, Fiona Benson,
Judi Benson, Emily Berry, Liz Berry,
Kate Blingham, Eavan Boland, Pat Boran,
Kamau Brathwaite, Colette Bryce, John Burnside,
Matthew Caley, Vahni Capildeo, Anne Carson, 
Ciaran Carson, Kate Clanchy, Gillian Clarke, 
Wendy Cope, Robert Crawford, Allan Crosbie, 
Kwame Dawes, Imtiaz Dharker, Michael Donaghy, 
Tishani Doshi, Jane Draycott, Carol Ann Duffy, 
Ian Duhig, Helen Dunmore, UA Fanthorpe, 
Paul Farley, Vicki Feaver, Duncan Forbes, 
Linda France, Matthew Francis, Pamela Gillilan, 
Alan Gillis, John Goodby, Lavinia Greenlaw, 
Thom Gunn, Jen Hadfield, Tony Harrison, 
David Harsent, Seamus Heaney, Stuart Henson, 
WN Herbert, Geoffrey Hill, Selima Hill, 
Ellen Hinsey, Sarah Howe, Ted Hughes, 
Clive James, Kathleen Jamie, Alan Jenkins, 
Linton Kwesi Johnson, Jackie Kay, Mimi Khalvati, 
John Kinsella, August Kleinzahler, RF Langley, 
James Lasdun, Gwyneth Lewis, Michael Longley, 
Hannah Lowe, Roddy Lumsden, Derek Mahon, 
Glyn Maxwell, Roger McGough, Jamie McKendrick, 
Kei Miller, Sinéad Morrissey, Paul Muldoon,
Les Murray, Daljit Nagra, Sean O’Brien, 
Alice Oswald, Don Paterson, Clare Pollard, 
Peter Porter, Sheenagh Pugh, Claudia Rankine, 
Denise Riley, Michael Symmons Roberts, 
Robin Robertson, Jacob Sam-La Rose, Ann Sansom, 
Carole Satyamurti, Jo Shapcott, Owen Sheers, 
Penelope Shuttle, George Szirtes, Kate Tempest, 
RS Thomas, Derek Walcott, Lucy Anne Watt, 
Hugo Williams, Benjamin Zephaniah

Forward books


100 Prized Poems: Twenty-five years of the Forward Books is a distillation of the 25 annual Forward Books of Poetry published since 1992, a series highlighting the works commended each year for the prestigious Forward Prizes.

The anthology – 100 poems by 100 poets – is a sampler of the best poems of the last quarter century. Chosen by William Sieghart CBE, chairman of the Forward Arts Foundation, the roll-call of poets included is a Who’s Who of poetry excellence and features both familiar names – Carol Ann Duffy, Don Paterson, Derek Walcott – and fresh voices – Kate Tempest, Kei Miller and Emily Berry.

“Back in the 1990s, the UK and Ireland were different: it was, for example, entirely unexceptional for authoritative anthologies of twentieth century poetry to contain four times as many men as women, all, or almost all, white.  The contemporary canon as monolith belongs to history now: and a close study of the Forward Books over the years shows how change can happen.” 

– William Sieghart CBE, chairman of the Forward Arts Foundation